Non-linear Workflow: The Faster Way!

In a previous post, I gave a lengthy description on how I get our church sermons from the DVD to our website. At the very end I said there had to be a faster way, we live in the 21st century, after all, and this process just had to be streamline…able. I just made a new word.

Then I discovered how I could accomplish streamlineability with my previous workflow. I still use MPEG Streamclip to rip the message portion as a .mov file with NTSC DV compression. It still gives me a 7-8GB file, but maybe using a more contemporary format wouldn’t hurt.

The settings I use in MPEG Streamclip

Here’s where the new stuff comes in. Rather than use Adobe Premiere, I use iMovie ’11. The reason is because the new version of iMovie, which comes with any new Mac, has the ability to upload directly to Vimeo. I give up a little bit of control for streamlinèdness.

There was only one issue. Graphics. I had my own customized lower-thirds from Premiere. iMovie has its own “customizable” graphics, but I need to use my own so it looks more professional. What I did was export a .mov of my graphic lower-third with alpha channel (transparency channel) from Premiere. It’s basically just an animated .psd that wipes on and fades off. I then add it to my iMovie event bin, and use the Picture-in-Picture effect and place it where I want on the footage.

Be sure to have Advanced Tools on for Picture-in-Picture

After that I simply add my intro and outro to the timeline. When everything is in its proper place, I click Share to Vimeo, enter my credentials, and away it goes!

Drop down menu for Sharing to Vimeo

But for increased streamlining, I needed this to be faster than what I was doing before. No multiple files, compressing, and used up disk space. I discovered that when you add a clip to iMovie, it creates a copy in one of its folders to keep it separate and editable from the original. In my case, since I had DVD originals, I don’t need to keep these copies.

Every time I rip another message, I rename it “AM-Message,” the name of the first copy I put into iMovie, and overwrite the new with the old. iMovie doesn’t know the difference. Now, when I open iMovie, the new message is already placed in the timeline with the graphics and intro and outro in place! All I need is to nudge some of them around so it looks nice, and Share it to Vimeo again! This saved me hours of waiting and allows us to post to our site in a much more efficient and time-saving manner.

The preview image in the timeline is different than the actual footage. iMovie still has the original footage in its memory when you replace it with the new one. It is not affected.

Try it out for yourself. If you do work like this, let me know if this is helpful at all. I appreciate any feedback concerning workflow tips an tricks.

Leave a Reply

